Home   |    Services   |    Research   |    Events and Classes   |    Childrens   |    Readers   |    Library for the Blind   |  

Reference Resources



Ready Reference

Anywho, good resource for looking up phone numbers.

Embassy.org a resource of and for the Washington D.C. foreign embassy community.

CIA World Factbook (Great Country Information).

Georgia Driver Manual:
Learn how to drive and pass the driving test from the GA Dept of Driver Services.


Occupational Outlook Handbook : a great resource for career guidance

Career One Stop : a great resource for career guidance sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor

GACE Study Materials : Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators' free study official materials. There is also free full length practice tests.


Credit Report Information:


Accessing credit scores and reports may be confusing and frustrating for some consumers. And understanding credit scores and how to improve them can also be challenging. Until recently, consumers couldn’t easily access their credit scores and often had to pay to get them. But over the last few years, many credit card issuers and other companies have begun to offer free credit scores to their customers. The CFPB has information on ways to access credit scores and reports, along with tools and resources to help your patrons understand and improve their credit profile.

1. Where to find free access to a credit score
We released a list of companies that told us they offer their existing credit card customers free access to one of their credit scores. This list also includes information on other ways to get credit scores for free. You can access this list here.

2. Credit reports and scores web portal
Our new portal helps your patrons find information and learn about credit scores and reports while providing links to additional resources. It includes sections on the difference between credit scores and credit reports, what to look for and how to dispute errors on credit reports, and tips for building and keeping a good credit score. You can access the portal here.

3. Other resources on credit reports and scores
We have additional tools on credit reports and scores that you can share with your patrons:
Understand your credit score: An overview of credit scores and tips on how to build and improve credit scores. You can access the guide here.
How to rebuild your credit: Steps and tips on how to rebuild credit. You can access the guide here.
Sample letter to dispute information on a credit report: Letters and instructions to help consumers dispute errors on their credit report here.
My credit report rules to live by: Help your client create their own credit “rules to live by” that fit their financial situation. You can download the worksheet here.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) : a great resource for writing resources, including help with citations.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2009.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2010.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2011.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2012.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2013.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2014.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources 2015.

Great resource for anything related to Movies/TV.

Webopedia: Great resource for Technology.

Replacements, LTD.: a great resource for prices of china and very good at locating replacement china.

Kovel's: a great resource for pricing antiques.

Billboard Top Charts all the way back.

Find a good read:

NoveList: (Helps you decide what to read next, and find similar titles by series, author or series)

What's Next in a Series: (Helps you search series fiction)

What Should I Read Next?: (Book recommendations from readers like you)

WhichBook?: (A new way of choosing what books to read next)

Fantastic Fiction: (Helps you choose a good read and learn more about an author)

Genrefluent: (Helps readers find the books they love)

Genealogy Related

Chronicling America : a great resource for searching historic newspapers from 1836 - 1922.

Georgia Historic Newspapers : a great resource for searching historic newspapers from around Georgia, including Albany Herald.

Find A Grave. A good resource for locating the resting place of celebrities and similar questions.

Georgia Resources

GACE Test Prep Study Materials.

GACE Instructional Technology Exam 302.

Dougherty County Law Library Forms.

Georgia County Guide.

Dougherty County School Transcripts Form and Information.

Dougherty County Restaurant Inspections

Dougherty County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Worth County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Lee County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Terrell County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Mitchell County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Calhoun County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Baker County Tax Assessor Office, search tax and property records

Georgia Tax Assessors Webpage, to access tax assessors.

Georgia Authors by County.

Tax Forms and Information

IRS tax forms.

Georgia tax forms.

Voter Information

Find a sample ballot and who is running and what the amendments are you will be voting on before you go to vote.

Georgia Gun Laws : "Safe Carry Protection Act"

House Bill 60 Read More

Georgia Code Among Other Sections:

PART 3. CARRYING AND POSSESSION OF FIREARMS
TITLE 16 Chapter 11 Article 4 Part 3 NOTE
§ 16-11-125.1. Definitions
§ 16-11-126. Having or carrying handguns, long guns, or other weapons; license requirement; exceptions for homes, ...
§ 16-11-127. Carrying weapons in unauthorized locations
§ 16-11-127.1. Carrying weapons within school safety zones, at school functions, or on a bus or other ...
§ 16-11-127.2. Weapons on premises of nuclear power facility
§ 16-11-128. Carrying pistol without license
§ 16-11-129. Weapons carry license; temporary renewal permit; mandamus
§ 16-11-130. Exemptions from Code Sections 16-11-126 through 16-11-127.2
§ 16-11-130.1. Allowing personnel to carry weapons within certain school safety zones and at school functions
§ 16-11-130.2. Carrying a weapon or long gun at a commercial service airport
§ 16-11-131. Possession of firearms by convicted felons and first offender probationers
§ 16-11-132. Possession of handgun by person under the age of 18 years
§ 16-11-133. Minimum periods of confinement for persons convicted who have prior convictions
§ 16-11-134. Discharging firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
§ 16-11-135. Public or private employer's parking lots; right of privacy in vehicles in employer's parking lot or ...
§ 16-11-136. Restrictions on possession, manufacture, sale, or transfer of knives
§ 16-11-137. Required possession of weapons carry license or proof of exemption when carrying a weapon; detention ...
§ 16-11-138. Defense of self or others as absolute defense

Literacy Rates

U.S. Dept. of Education's Estimates for Literacy Rates in the US.

Federal School Codes

FAFSA Most current Federal School Codes.

Sports

Great resource for Track and Field records and stats.

Listing of Professional Football Champions.

Disc golf.

Golf.

Georgia Sports Hall of Fame.

Listing college football champions.

Great resource for SouthWest GA Trekkies, a Star Trek Club in Columbus, GA.

Great resource for SouthWest GA Star Wars fans.

Services for the Blind and Physically Handicapped


Georgia Libraries for the Blind

The Southwest Georgia Library for Accessible Services is one of nine subregional libraries in the state of Georgia and currently serves the following 22 county region:

Baker, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Echols, Grady, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas, Webster, and Worth

Further information is available by calling (229) 248-2680 or 1-800-795-2680, or by coming by the library at:

Southwest Georgia Regional Library System
301 South Monroe Street
Bainbridge, Georgia 39819

Our operating hours are:
Monday 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday, Wednesday, & Friday 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Thursday 9 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

National Library for the Blind:

Georgia Regional Library for the Blind (Atlanta over the state):

Mystery Genres:



Christian Mysteries

Christian mysteries feature all the who-done-it appeal of 'mainstream' mysteries. A Christian worldview suffuses the plot, and the protagonist's relationship with God influences their actions and helps them to solve the case.

Classic Mysteries

Edgar Allan Poe invented the "detective mystery" in the 1840s, with "The Murders in the Rue Morgue." Ever-popular, mysteries now range from cozy to hard-boiled -- discover a new favorite among these Classic Mysteries.

Crafty Crimes

Keep up with clever crafters as they quilt, sew, garden and stamp their way to the solution of these cozy mysteries.

Fatally Funny

Readers who like their mysteries with plenty of laughs, will find these books have just the right blend of "who-done-it" and "laugh-out-loud."

Gumshoes and Flatfoots

Gumshoe, flatfoot, snooper and eye: All of these are slang for Private Investigator, the person you hire to crack the case. A staple of mystery fiction, the P.I. is often an ex-cop or ex-military. You got the money? He's got the time.

Not Just for Teens: Mysteries

These teen mysteries are more than suspenseful enough for adult readers to enjoy too. Fast-paced plot twists (and perhaps a supernatural shiver or two?) keep those pages flying!

Paranormal Mysteries

Paranormal mysteries feature a tantalizing mystery plot, laced with elements of fantasy and the supernatural. Magical creatures, ghostly interventions, and more await those who sleuth here!

Police Procedures

No amateur detectives here! These sleuths are law enforcement pros, subject to the rules and procedures of their force. Forensics colleagues, medical examiners, and legal officials may also pitch in to help them crack the case.

Author Read-Alikes:

Do you enjoy James Patterson Author Read-alikes
John Sandford, Greg Iles, Ridley Pearson, Jeff Deaver, and Joseph Garber.

Do you enjoy Robert B. Parker Author Read-alikes
Raymond Chandler, Stephen Cannell, Robert Crais, Steven Brust, and Loren Estleman.

Do you enjoy David Baldacci Author Read-alikes
James Grippando, Stephen Cannell, John Grisham, Michael Connelly, and Kyle Mills.

Do you enjoy John Grisham Author Read-alikes
Scott Turow, Steve Martini, Lisa Scottoline, Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci, and Stuart Woods.

Do you enjoy Stuart Woods Author Read-alikes
Lawrence Sanders, Jeffrey Archer, Sidney Sheldon, Stephen Cannell, and James Patterson.

Do you enjoy Zane Author Read-alikes
Mary B. Morrison, Brenda Jackson, Noire, Rochelle Alers, Donna Hill, and Eric Jerome Dickey.

Do you enjoy Omar Tyree Author Read-alikes
Donald Goines, Nelson George, E. Lynn Harris, and Travis Hunter.

Do you enjoy John Sandford Author Read-alikes
Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, David L. Lindsey, and John Dunning.

Do you enjoy Nicholas Sparks Author Read-alikes
Emily Grayson, James Michael Pratt, Richard Paul Evans, Lynne Hinton, and K. C. McKinnon.

Do you enjoy Danielle Steel Author Read-alikes
Barbara Deminsky, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Fern Michaels, and Nicholas Sparks.

Do you enjoy Francine Rivers Author Read-alikes
Angela Elwell Hunt, Ellen Gunderson Traylor, Beverly Lewis, and Taylor Caldwell.

Do you enjoy Nora Roberts Author Read-alikes
Suzanne Brockmann, JoAnn Ross, Anne Stuart, Christine Feehan, and Jayne Ann Krentz.

Do you enjoy Fern Michaels Author Read-alikes
Nora Roberts, Debbie Macomber, Dannielle Steel, and Luanne Rice.

Computers

+ Larger Font | + Smaller Font

+ Text Size-

Facebook Twitter Class Handout

Ready Reference1

Ready Reference2

Ready Reference3

Fall Programming




x