Home   |    Services   |    Research   |    Events and Classes   |    Childrens   |    Readers   |    Library for the Blind   |  

Reference Resources



Ready Reference

Anywho, good resource for looking up phone numbers.

Internet Public Libraries Online Reference Resources.

CIA World Factbook (Great Country Information).

What's Next in a Series.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources .

Great resource for anything related to Movies/TV.

Webopedia: Great resource for Technology.

Replacements, LTD.: a great resource for prices of china and very good at locating replacement china.

Kovel's: a great resource for pricing antiques.

Find A Grave. A good resource for locating the resting place of celebrities and similar questions.

Billboard Top Charts all the way back.

Georgia Resources

Dougherty County Law Library Forms.

Georgia County Guide.

Dougherty County School Transcripts Form and Information.

Dougherty County Restaurant Inspections

SOWEGA County Health Restaurant Inspections

Dougherty County Tax Assessor Office, search tax records

Georgia Tax Assessors Webpage, to access tax assessors.

Georgia Authors by County.

Voter Information

Find a sample ballot and who is running and what the amendments are you will be voting on before you go to vote.

Georgia Gun Laws : "Safe Carry Protection Act"

House Bill 60 Read More

Georgia Code Among Other Sections:

PART 3. CARRYING AND POSSESSION OF FIREARMS
TITLE 16 Chapter 11 Article 4 Part 3 NOTE
16-11-125.1. Definitions
16-11-126. Having or carrying handguns, long guns, or other weapons; license requirement; exceptions for homes, ...
16-11-127. Carrying weapons in unauthorized locations
16-11-127.1. Carrying weapons within school safety zones, at school functions, or on a bus or other ...
16-11-127.2. Weapons on premises of nuclear power facility
16-11-128. Carrying pistol without license
16-11-129. Weapons carry license; temporary renewal permit; mandamus
16-11-130. Exemptions from Code Sections 16-11-126 through 16-11-127.2
16-11-130.1. Allowing personnel to carry weapons within certain school safety zones and at school functions
16-11-130.2. Carrying a weapon or long gun at a commercial service airport
16-11-131. Possession of firearms by convicted felons and first offender probationers
16-11-132. Possession of handgun by person under the age of 18 years
16-11-133. Minimum periods of confinement for persons convicted who have prior convictions
16-11-134. Discharging firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
16-11-135. Public or private employer's parking lots; right of privacy in vehicles in employer's parking lot or ...
16-11-136. Restrictions on possession, manufacture, sale, or transfer of knives
16-11-137. Required possession of weapons carry license or proof of exemption when carrying a weapon; detention ...
16-11-138. Defense of self or others as absolute defense

Literacy Rates

U.S. Dept. of Education's Estimates for Literacy Rates in the US.

GA Technical College System of GA's Statistics Related to Literacy.

Federal School Codes

FAFSA Most current Federal School Codes.

Sports

Great resource for Track and Field records and stats.

Services for the Blind and Physically Handicapped


Georgia Libraries for the Blind

Regional Library

Georgia Library for Accessible Services (GLASS)
1150 Murphy Avenue SW
Atlanta, GA 30310
Telephone: (404) 756-4619 or (404) 756-4476
Toll-free: 800-248-6701
Fax: (404) 756-4618
E-mail: glass@georgialibraries.org or bwilliams@georgialibraries.org
Website: http://www.georgialibraries.org/public/glass.html
Serves: Baker, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Hall, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas, and Webster counties; braille readers receive service from Utah Librarian: Stella Cone
Machine agency contact: Lamar Robinson
Library code: GA1A
Hours: 8:005:00 MF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, braille, print reference collection, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Braille embosser (computer-driven), braille notetaker, braillewriter (manual), closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), optical character reader, screen-enlarging software Special services: Book discussion group, braille on request, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter, subject bibliographies

Subregional Libraries

Talking Book Center
Augusta Subregional Library
East Central Georgia Regional Library
823 Telfair Street
Augusta, GA 30901
Telephone: (706) 821-2625
Fax: (706) 724-6762
E-mail: talkbook@ecgrl.org
Website: http://www.ecgrl.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=90&Itemid=117
Serves: Burke, Columbia, Jefferson, Lincoln, McDuffie, Richmond, Taliafferro, Warren, and Wilkes counties Librarian: Teresa Cole
Library code: GA1D
Hours: 9:005:00 MF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook, large print Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, print reference collection, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Braille embosser (computer-driven), braillewriter (manual), closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), optical character reader, screen-enlarging software, speech input or output Special services: Braille on request, children's summer reading program, radio reading service, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter

Bainbridge Subregional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
Southwest Georgia Regional Library
301 South Monroe Street
Bainbridge, GA 39819-4029
Telephone: (229) 248-2680
Toll-free: 800-795-2680
TDD: (229) 248-2665
Fax: (229) 248-2670
E-mail: lbph@swgrl.org
Website: http://www.swgrl.org/handicap.php
Serves: Baker, Brooks, Calhoun, Clay, Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Terrell, Thomas, Webster, and Worth counties Librarian: Susan S. Whittle Library code: GA1E Hours: 8:305:30 MF Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook Special collections: Print reference collection, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Braille embosser (computer-driven), braillewriter (manual), closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), magnifier, speech input or output Special services: Book discussion group, braille on request, children's story hour, children's summer reading program, programs for adults with disabilities, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter, SW Georgia Regional Library newsletter, subject bibliographies

Oconee Regional Library
Southeast Georgia Talking Book Center
PO Box100
801 Bellevue Avenue
Dublin, GA 31040
Telephone: (478) 275-5382
Toll-free: 800-453-5541
Fax: (478) 275-3821
E-mail: wdaniel@ocrl.org
Website: http://www.ocrl.org/dublintbc.php
Serves: Bleckley, Dodge, Glascock, Johnson, Laurens, Montgomery, Pulaski, Tattnall, Telfair, Toombs, Treutlen, Washington, Wheeler, and Wilcox counties Librarian: Wanda S. Daniel
Library code: GA1G
Hours: 8:305:30 MF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook, large print Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, braille, electronic books, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), magnifier, optical character reader, screen-enlarging software, Sorenson video phone Special services: Braille on request, children's summer reading program, dial-up news or book services, senior patron computer classes, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter

Middle Georgia Subregional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
Washington Memorial Library
1180 Washington Avenue
Macon, GA 31201-1790
Telephone: (478) 744-0877
Toll-free: 800-805-7613
TDD: (478) 744-0877
Fax: (478) 744-0840
E-mail: harringj@bibblib.org
Website: http://www.co.bibb.ga.us/library/TBC.htm
Serves: Baldwin, Bibb, Crawford, Crisp, Dooly, Dougherty, Houston, Jones, Lee, Macon, Peach, Schley, Sumter, Twiggs, Wilkinson, and Worth counties Librarian: Judy T. Harrington
Library code: GA1J
Hours: 9:005:00 MF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook, large print Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, children's books, print reference collection, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), magnifier, optical character reader, screen-enlarging software Special services: Braille on request, dial-up news or book services, volunteer services

Northwest Georgia Talking Book Library
Sara Hightower Regional Library
205 Riverside Parkway NE
Rome, GA30161-2911
Telephone: (706) 236-4618 or (706) 236-4615
Toll-free: 888-263-0769
TDD: (706) 236-4618
Fax: (706) 236-4631
E-mail: dhickman@nwgatbl.org or staff@nwgatbl.org
Website: http://www.nwgatbl.org
Serves: Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Dade, Douglas, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Haralson, Heard, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Towns, Union, Walker, and Whitfield counties Librarian: Delana Hickman
Library code: GA1K
Hours: 8:304:30 MF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook
Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, braille, videotapes on disabilities, volunteer-produced audiocassettes Assistive devices: Braillewriter (manual), closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), magnifier, optical character reader, screen-enlarging software, speech input or output Special services: Reading local newspapers, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter

Subregional Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
Live Oak Public Libraries
Southwest Chatham Branch
14097 Abercorn Street
Savannah, GA 31419
Telephone: (912) 925-7774
Toll-free: 800-342-4455
Fax: (912) 925-8310
E-mail: stokesl@liveoakpl.org or lbphsav@liveoakpl.org
Website: http://www.liveoakpl.org/about/library-for-the-blind-physical.php
Serves: Bryan, Bulloch, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Jenkins, Liberty, and Screven counties Librarian: Linda Stokes
Library code: GA1L
Hours: 9:006:00 TF
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook
Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, braille, print reference collection Assistive devices: Braillewriter (manual), closed-circuit TV (Optelec, etc.), optical character reader, screen-enlarging software, speech input or output Special services: Volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter

Valdosta Talking Book Center
South Georgia Regional Library
300 Woodrow Wilson Drive
Valdosta, GA 31602-2592
Telephone: (229) 333-7658 or (229) 333-0086
Toll-free: 800-246-6515
Fax: (229) 333-0774 or (229) 333-7669
E-mail: djernigan@sgrl.org
Website: http://www.sgrl.org/pages/talkingbook.html
Serves: Atkinson, Ben Hill, Berrien, Coffee, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Lowndes, Tift, and Turner counties Librarian: Diane Jernigan
Library code: GA1M
Hours: 9:306:00 MTh; 9:305:30 F
Book collection: Audiocassette, digital audiobook, large print Special collections: Audio-descriptive videos, children's books, print/braille books, print reference collection, tactile maps, videotapes on disabilities Assistive devices: Magnifier Special services: Children's summer reading program, volunteer services Publications: Patron newsletter

National Library for the Blind:

Georgia Regional Library for the Blind (Atlanta over the state):

Mystery Genres:



A Matter of Faith

Religious-leader-as-amateur-sleuth is a popular theme in a number of mysteries. These investigators represent many faiths and backgrounds and their beliefs impact the way they go about solving crimes. These novels tend to be "gentle reads" or at least to contain less violence.

African American Sleuths

Multicultural Murder featuring African-American investigators--sometimes as professional detectives, sometimes as amateur sleuths. The novels occur in different time periods and are set in a variety of locations.

Christian Mysteries

Christian mysteries mirror many aspects of 'mainstream' mysteries. The main difference is in the evangelical aspect to the stories. The protagonists' relationship with God influences their behavior and helps them track down the criminal.

Classic Mysteries

Edgar Allan Poe invented the "detective mystery" in the 1840s, with "The Murders in the Rue Morgue." Mysteries have only increased in popularity and are now written in many styles from cozy to hard-boiled. Hopefully, you'll re-discover an old favorite or find something new to treasure on this list of Classics.

Cooking Up Crime

The culinary mystery trend started decades ago with the Nero Wolfe books, then simmered on the backburner for years. With the publication of Virginia Rich's, "The Cooking School Murders", this style of mystery has become increasingly popular. Not all include recipes but when they do, it's a nice bonus.

Fatally Funny

Many mysteries have a humorous component but these take the reader into laugh-out-loud territory.

Gumshoes and Flatfoots

Gumshoe, flatfoot, snooper and eye: All of these are slang for Private Investigator, the person you hire to do your dirty work. A staple of mystery fiction, the P.I. is often an ex-cop or ex-military. You got the money? He's got the time.

Murder is going to the dogs (&cats)

If you enjoy pampering your own pets, you might like these light mysteries. In some, the story is told from the animal's point of view. While in others, the owner solves the mystery.

Author Read-Alikes:

Do you enjoy James Patterson Author Read-alikes
John Sandford, Greg Iles, Ridley Pearson, Jeff Deaver, and Joseph Garber.

Do you enjoy Robert B. Parker Author Read-alikes
Raymond Chandler, Stephen Cannell, Robert Crais, Steven Brust, and Loren Estleman.

Do you enjoy David Baldacci Author Read-alikes
James Grippando, Stephen Cannell, John Grisham, Michael Connelly, and Kyle Mills.

Do you enjoy John Grisham Author Read-alikes
Scott Turow, Steve Martini, Lisa Scottoline, Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci, and Stuart Woods.

Do you enjoy Stuart Woods Author Read-alikes
Lawrence Sanders, Jeffrey Archer, Sidney Sheldon, Stephen Cannell, and James Patterson.

Do you enjoy Zane Author Read-alikes
Mary B. Morrison, Brenda Jackson, Noire, Rochelle Alers, Donna Hill, and Eric Jerome Dickey.

Do you enjoy Omar Tyree Author Read-alikes
Donald Goines, Nelson George, E. Lynn Harris, and Travis Hunter.

Do you enjoy John Sandford Author Read-alikes
Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, David L. Lindsey, and John Dunning.

Do you enjoy Nicholas Sparks Author Read-alikes
Emily Grayson, James Michael Pratt, Richard Paul Evans, Lynne Hinton, and K. C. McKinnon.

Do you enjoy Danielle Steel Author Read-alikes
Barbara Deminsky, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Fern Michaels, and Nicholas Sparks.

Do you enjoy Francine Rivers Author Read-alikes
Angela Elwell Hunt, Ellen Gunderson Traylor, Beverly Lewis, and Taylor Caldwell.

Do you enjoy Nora Roberts Author Read-alikes
Suzanne Brockmann, JoAnn Ross, Anne Stuart, Christine Feehan, and Jayne Ann Krentz.

Do you enjoy Fern Michaels Author Read-alikes
Nora Roberts, Debbie Macomber, Dannielle Steel, and Luanne Rice.

Computers

+ Larger Font | + Smaller Font

+ Text Size-

Facebook Twitter Class Handout

Ready Reference1

Ready Reference2

Ready Reference3

Fall Programming




x