Home   |    Services   |    Research   |    Events and Classes   |    Childrens   |    Readers   |    Library for the Blind   |  

Reference Resources



Ready Reference

Anywho, good resource for looking up phone numbers.

Internet Public Libraries Online Reference Resources.

CIA World Factbook (Great Country Information).

What's Next in a Series.

Reference and User Services Association's Top Online FREE resources .

Great resource for anything related to Movies/TV.

Webopedia: Great resource for Technology.

Replacements, LTD.: a great resource for prices of china and very good at locating replacement china.

Kovel's: a great resource for pricing antiques.

Find A Grave. A good resource for locating the resting place of celebrities and similar questions.

Billboard Top Charts all the way back.

Georgia Resources

Dougherty County Law Library Forms.

Georgia County Guide.

Dougherty County School Transcripts Form and Information.

Dougherty County Restaurant Inspections

SOWEGA County Health Restaurant Inspections

Dougherty County Tax Assessor Office, search tax records

Georgia Tax Assessors Webpage, to access tax assessors.

Georgia Authors by County.

Voter Information

Find a sample ballot and who is running and what the amendments are you will be voting on before you go to vote.

Literacy Rates

U.S. Dept. of Education's Estimates for Literacy Rates in the US.

GA Technical College System of GA's Statistics Related to Literacy.

Federal School Codes

FAFSA Most current Federal School Codes.

Sports

Great resource for Track and Field records and stats.

Services for the Blind and Physically Handicapped


Patrons who live in Crisp, Dooly, Lee, Schley, Sumter, and Worth Counties will be served by the Macon Subregional Library.
Contact Macon Library for the Blind at:
1180 Washington Avenue
Macon, GA 31201
478-744-0840 or 1-800-805-7613
Fax: 478-744-0840


Patrons who live in Calhoun, Clay, Dougherty, Quitman, Randolph, Terrell, and Webster Counties will be served by the Bainbridge Subregional Library.
Contact Bainbridge Library for the Blind at:
301 South Monroe Street
Bainbridge, GA 39819
229-248-2680 or 1-800-795-2680
Fax: 229-248-2670


National Library for the Blind:

Georgia Regional Library for the Blind (Atlanta over the state):

Georgia Library for Accessible Services (GLASS)
1150 Murphy Avenue SW
Atlanta, GA 30310

Librarian: Stella Cone
Library Code: GA1A
Telephone: (404) 756-4619 and (404) 756-4476
Toll-free (In-state): (800) 248-6701
FAX: (404) 756-4618

E-mail: glass@georgialibraries.org or bwilliams@georgialibraries.org

Mystery Genres:



A Matter of Faith

Religious-leader-as-amateur-sleuth is a popular theme in a number of mysteries. These investigators represent many faiths and backgrounds and their beliefs impact the way they go about solving crimes. These novels tend to be "gentle reads" or at least to contain less violence.

African American Sleuths

Multicultural Murder featuring African-American investigators--sometimes as professional detectives, sometimes as amateur sleuths. The novels occur in different time periods and are set in a variety of locations.

Christian Mysteries

Christian mysteries mirror many aspects of 'mainstream' mysteries. The main difference is in the evangelical aspect to the stories. The protagonists' relationship with God influences their behavior and helps them track down the criminal.

Classic Mysteries

Edgar Allan Poe invented the "detective mystery" in the 1840s, with "The Murders in the Rue Morgue." Mysteries have only increased in popularity and are now written in many styles from cozy to hard-boiled. Hopefully, you'll re-discover an old favorite or find something new to treasure on this list of Classics.

Cooking Up Crime

The culinary mystery trend started decades ago with the Nero Wolfe books, then simmered on the backburner for years. With the publication of Virginia Rich's, "The Cooking School Murders", this style of mystery has become increasingly popular. Not all include recipes but when they do, it's a nice bonus.

Fatally Funny

Many mysteries have a humorous component but these take the reader into laugh-out-loud territory.

Gumshoes and Flatfoots

Gumshoe, flatfoot, snooper and eye: All of these are slang for Private Investigator, the person you hire to do your dirty work. A staple of mystery fiction, the P.I. is often an ex-cop or ex-military. You got the money? He's got the time.

Murder is going to the dogs (&cats)

If you enjoy pampering your own pets, you might like these light mysteries. In some, the story is told from the animal's point of view. While in others, the owner solves the mystery.

Author Read-Alikes:

Do you enjoy James Patterson Author Read-alikes
John Sandford, Greg Iles, Ridley Pearson, Jeff Deaver, and Joseph Garber.

Do you enjoy Robert B. Parker Author Read-alikes
Raymond Chandler, Stephen Cannell, Robert Crais, Steven Brust, and Loren Estleman.

Do you enjoy David Baldacci Author Read-alikes
James Grippando, Stephen Cannell, John Grisham, Michael Connelly, and Kyle Mills.

Do you enjoy John Grisham Author Read-alikes
Scott Turow, Steve Martini, Lisa Scottoline, Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci, and Stuart Woods.

Do you enjoy Stuart Woods Author Read-alikes
Lawrence Sanders, Jeffrey Archer, Sidney Sheldon, Stephen Cannell, and James Patterson.

Do you enjoy Zane Author Read-alikes
Mary B. Morrison, Brenda Jackson, Noire, Rochelle Alers, Donna Hill, and Eric Jerome Dickey.

Do you enjoy Omar Tyree Author Read-alikes
Donald Goines, Nelson George, E. Lynn Harris, and Travis Hunter.

Do you enjoy John Sandford Author Read-alikes
Michael Connelly, Jeffery Deaver, David L. Lindsey, and John Dunning.

Do you enjoy Nicholas Sparks Author Read-alikes
Emily Grayson, James Michael Pratt, Richard Paul Evans, Lynne Hinton, and K. C. McKinnon.

Do you enjoy Danielle Steel Author Read-alikes
Barbara Deminsky, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Fern Michaels, and Nicholas Sparks.

Do you enjoy Francine Rivers Author Read-alikes
Angela Elwell Hunt, Ellen Gunderson Traylor, Beverly Lewis, and Taylor Caldwell.

Do you enjoy Nora Roberts Author Read-alikes
Suzanne Brockmann, JoAnn Ross, Anne Stuart, Christine Feehan, and Jayne Ann Krentz.

Do you enjoy Fern Michaels Author Read-alikes
Nora Roberts, Debbie Macomber, Dannielle Steel, and Luanne Rice.

Computers

+ Larger Font | + Smaller Font

+ Text Size-

Facebook Twitter Class Handout

Ready Reference1

Ready Reference2

Ready Reference3

Fall Programming




x